Book Review: The lie by CL Taylor #guestpost #amreading #thriller


Today I have a guest post by Sophia Rose.

sophiarose

The Lie by CL Taylor

Rating: 4 

GoodReads:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30170265-the-lie

Synopsis from GoodReads:

Haunting and compelling, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Girl on the Train, and Daughter.

Jane Hughes has a great boyfriend, a job in an animal shelter, and a tiny cottage in rural Wales. She’s happier than she’s ever been…but her life is a lie. Jane Hughes does not really exist.

Five years earlier, Jane and her best friends set off on what was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime, but it rapidly descended into a nightmare that claimed the lives of two of her friends. Ever since, Jane has tried to put the past behind her and lead a normal life. But someone out there knows the truth about what happened-and they won’t stop until they’ve destroyed Jane and everything she loves.

Review:

I’ve been in the mood for spine-tingling chills and a complex twisty plot.  The blurb captured my attention and into it I dove hoping to be thrilled by a satisfying and intense mystery.  Eventually, the book gave me that, but it started out slow before it really got rolling.  What I think helped me connect with this book was when I realized it was actually not just a thriller, but an interesting blend of women’s fiction and thriller.

As I said, it started off slow.  There was twice the intro and set up because of the way the plot was structured which explains the pace.  This is one that flips back and forth between a past and present story line, but with the same character perspective narrating both.  The present is with Jane Hughes the quiet, put together woman with a nice cottage, lovely boyfriend, and satisfying job at the animal shelter who is now receiving messages from someone she thought was dead.  The past is with Emma (she changed her name to Jane to start over) and her three friends who go on the adventure holiday of a lifetime that turns into a nightmare.

Once in a while, I come across a book that blends some elements that make for an interesting read and take some getting used to.  In this one, the author melds women’s fiction into a thriller story.  There is definitely a suspenseful and even atmospheric thriller layer to the plot.  Danger is very present and people are terrified for their lives.  I guessed after the person and motive behind it all, but the truth was only obvious near the end when the layers were peeled back bit by bit.

Planted in the center of all this is a story of four women who claim a friendship.  They are drawn as regular people with regular people foibles.  I didn’t care for any of them when the book started and I only started warming up to some of the characters much later.

As four college friends set out on their holiday, there are certain dynamics in place.  Not ideal all around, but a decent group.  As their situation becomes drastic and beyond their previous experience, it all shifts.  Under the pressure they experience, they are all tested and it was interesting to see how it all turned out.  It reminded me of real life friendships that may or may not last.

In summary, this story took me places that I just never imagined when I picked it up and I would definitely give this author’s books another go.  I would recommend this for those who don’t mind the blending of thriller with women’s fiction.

My thanks to Sourcebooks Landmark for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

Book Details
Genre: Thriller
Publisher:  Sourcebooks Landmark
Published:  6.7.16
Pages: 400
Format: eARC
Source:  Sourcebooks Landmark
Sellers:  Amazon

buy_this_book

Sophia’s Bio:

Sophia is a quiet though curious gal who dabbles in cooking, book reviewing, and gardening. Encouraged and supported by an incredible man and loving family. A Northern Californian transplant to the Great Lakes Region of the US. Lover of Jane Austen, Baseball, Cats, Scooby Doo, and Chocolate.

Advertisements

Share your thoughts with me

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s